TAPS for Tuition Program Law

 

GOVERNMENT CODE

TITLE 4. EXECUTIVE BRANCH

SUBTITLE C. STATE MILITARY FORCES AND VETERANS

CHAPTER 434. VETERAN ASSISTANCE AGENCIES

SUBCHAPTER A. TEXAS VETERANS COMMISSION
Sec. 434.0072. “TAPS” TUITION VOUCHER PROGRAM. (a) In this section, “institution of

higher education” and “private or independent institution of higher education” have the

meanings assigned by Section 61.003, Education Code.

(b) The commission shall establish a program to issue vouchers to be exchanged for an

exemption from the payment of tuition and required fees at an institution of higher education

as provided by Section 54.344, Education Code, to students in grades 6 through 12 or at

postsecondary educational institutions who sound “Taps” on a bugle, trumpet, or cornet during

military honors funerals held in this state for deceased veterans. A voucher must be issued

in the amount of $25 for each time a student sounds “Taps” as described by this subsection.

(c) The commission by rule shall design a form for the vouchers and distribute the

form, with an explanation of the form’s use, to each funeral director in this state for

issuance to a person who is eligible to receive a voucher under this section. The commission

may not charge a fee for distribution of the form.

(d) The commission shall encourage a private or independent institution of higher

education to grant a tuition and fee exemption in exchange for a voucher.

(e) A voucher issued under this section may be used by the student at any time and

is not transferable.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 660 (H.B. 1187), Sec. 1, eff. June 15, 2007. Amended by: Acts 2011, 82nd Leg.,

R.S., Ch. 359 (S.B. 32), Sec. 13, eff. January 1, 2012.

 

The procedure is as follows:

Students contact local licensed funeral home(s) to make arrangements to provide TAPS during funerals honoring military veterans. The funeral director has the TVCTAPS “TAPS Certification” form that will be completed and signed by both the student (or parent or legal guardian if student is under the age of 18) and
the licensed funeral director following the sounding of TAPS at a funeral honoring a military veteran. The form is submitted by the student, or the student’s parent or guardian, to the address printed on the bottom of the form.

Click here for the TAPS Certification Form

Following receipt of your TAPS Certification at our State Headquarters Office, the Texas Veterans Commission will issue a voucher in the student’s name, to include a voucher number and date of issue. The voucher serves as a representation of the $25 reduction in tuition at certain institutions of higher education in the State of Texas. This voucher will be mailed to the address provided on the TVCTAPS “TAPS Certification” Form.

This voucher also serves as an excused absence from public schools in the State of Texas if the funeral is conducted during regular school hours.

Please note that it is the student’s responsibility to maintain a record of vouchers earned through the TAPS Tuition Voucher Program.

Please contact Sandy Gonzales at the Texas Veterans Commission state headquarters at sandy.gonzalez@tvc.texas.gov or at (512) 463-7302 if you have any further questions or concerns.

Thank you for your interest in the “TAPS for Tuition” Program.

Volunteer now!

For more information about up coming clinics go to: www.trumpetandtaps.org