Hazelwood Act logo

The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.

EDUCATION SERVICES TEAM
(512) 463-3168
(877) 898-3833 

educationservices@tvc.texas.gov

 

Rand Binford
Hazlewood Supervisor
educationservices@tvc.texas.gov

Marcela Clay
Hazlewood Specialist
educationservices@tvc.texas.gov

Miguel Rodriguez
Hazlewood Specialist
educationservices@tvc.texas.gov

Gary Medina
Outreach Coordinator
educationservices@tvc.texas.gov


 

ELIGIBILITY

A Veteran must meet all the eligibility requirements as drawn from the Hazlewood Act Statute and 40 Texas Administrative Code §461:

A Veteran must:

  • At the time of entry into active duty of the U.S. Armed Forces, (DD Form 214 required) & (40 TAC §461.40)
    • designated Texas as Home of Record;
    • or entered the service in Texas;
    • or was a Texas resident;
  • Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the Veteran’s Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty,
  • Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training);
  • Currently reside in Texas; (40 TAC §461.40) & (40 TAC §461.70)
  • Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.

For more information, contact educationservices@tvc.texas.gov
The institution of higher education (IHE) is the final decision making authority on student eligibility.

 

HOW TO APPLY

  1. Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university of his/her choice. Go to www.applytexas.org to apply or use your institution’s application for admission.
  2. Provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense regarding military service and the nature of discharge.
  3. Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI Bill® benefits by requesting a certificate of eligibility for federal education benefits from VA.gov (if veteran has active duty service after 9/11/2001).
  4. Fill out the Hazlewood Exemption application form.
  5. Turn in the Hazlewood Exemption application form, a copy of your letter of eligibility / ineligibility, and a copy of your DD214 to the financial aid office of the institution you will be attending.*Check with your school on application deadline policies.  If you qualify for state education benefits earned through military service and your verification paperwork to the school is delayed, you may apply for up to a 60-day deferment of tuition and fees to avoid late charges and/or being dropped from classes by submitting a Deferment Request Form.

 

ELIGIBILITY

Eligible Veterans may assign or transfer unused hours of exemption eligibility to a child under certain conditions as drawn from the Hazlewood Act Statute and 40 Texas Administrative Code §461

A Child (Legacy Act) must:

  • Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; (40 TAC §461.70)
  • Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year;
  • Be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition); and
  • Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits; (40 TAC §461.70) & (40 TAC §461.90)
  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.

Legacy recipients will receive an exemption for the number of degree certified hours reported by the institution for that term or semester. Maximum degree certified hours awarded to the Legacy recipient will be dependent upon the degree or certificate program in which the student is enrolled for that term or semester and shall be consistent with the program length as defined within the school catalog as approved by the regional accreditation commission. (40 TAC §461.30)

*If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another child. Only one child will use Hazlewood Legacy benefits at a time.

 

 

HOW TO APPLY

  1. Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university of his/her choice.  Go to www.applytexas.org to apply or use your institution’s application for admission.
  2. Provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense regarding military service and the nature of discharge.
  3. Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI Bill® benefits by requesting a certificate of eligibility for federal education benefits from VA.gov (if veteran has active duty service after 9/11/2001).
  4. Fill out the Hazlewood Exemption application form.
  5. Take both applications, letter of eligibility/ineligibility (if needed), along with a copy of the veteran’s DD214, to the financial aid office of the institution you will be attending.

*Check with your school on application deadline policies.  If you qualify for state education benefits earned through a parent’s military service and your verification paperwork to the school is delayed, you may apply for up to a 60-day deferment of tuition and fees to avoid late charges and/or being dropped from classes by submitting a Deferment Request Form.


 

ELIGIBILITY

A Spouse / Dependent must:
be the spouse/dependent of a Hazlewood Act benefit-eligible veteran who is determined by the VA to be 100%, total and permanent, service-connected veteran or one who became totally disabled for purposes of employability as a result of a service-related injury or illness.  The spouse/dependent(s) of a Hazlewood Act benefit-eligible veteran who meet the requirements below are entitled to receive a 150 credit hours exemption, each, under certain conditions as drawn from the Hazlewood Act Statute and Texas Administrative Code §461:

    • be classified by the institution as a Texas resident,
    • designated Texas as Home of Record,
    • or entered the service in Texas;
  • Be a spouse / child of a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces or the Texas National Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or;
    • A veteran who became totally and permanently disabled or meets the eligibility requirements for individual unemployability according to the disability ratings of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) as a result of a service-related injury, or
    • Missing in action (MIA), or
    • Killed in action (KIA).
  • Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and
  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the spouse / child of a MIA, KIA, or service-connected deceased Veteran. , (40 TAC §461.50) & (40 TAC §461.60)
 

HOW TO APPLY

A spouse/dependent of a veteran must:

  1. Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university of his/her choice.  Go to www.applytexas.org to apply or use your institution’s application for admission.
  2. Provide a DD214 and a disability rating letter or a DD1300 Report of Casualty regarding the veteran’s death.
  3. Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI Bill® benefits by requesting a certificate of eligibility for federal education benefits from VA.gov (if veteran has active duty service after 9/11/2001).
  4. Fill out the Hazlewood Exemption application form.
  5. Take both applications, letter of eligibility/ineligibility (if needed), along with a copy of the veteran’s DD214, to the financial aid office of the institution you will be attending.

*Check with your school on application deadline policies.  If you qualify for state education benefits earned through a parent’s military service and your verification paperwork to the school is delayed, you may apply for up to a 60-day deferment of tuition and fees to avoid late charges and/or being dropped from classes by submitting a Deferment Request Form.


 
The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption at public institutions of higher education in Texas.  This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.

The Hazlewood Act is available only for use at a Texas public college or university.  To access listings of Texas public colleges and universities, go to the Texas Institutions of Higher Education page and select any of the schools listed under the Texas Public Institutions.  The schools listed under Independent (Private) Institutions do NOT qualify for this exemption.

 

 

 

INFORMATION

Hazlewood Act Benefit Student Usage Reports and DD-214 Reporting Reminders

Submission Dates:  Fall Semester – January 31st
                                  Spring Semester – June 30th
                                  Summer Semesters – September 30th

Background of the DD214 Report portion of Hazlewood Act reporting: Beginning October 2018, public institutions of higher education were notified of the requirement to submit additional demographic data as it relates to the veteran’s DD214 and the use of the Hazlewood Act by Texas veterans and their families. This additional information may be provided through a standalone DD214 Report submission, or integrated via the .csv file report which combines both the DD214 Report and the Student Usage Report into a single completed file. We appreciate your continued support providing the additional information with your submitted files.

We welcome all Hazlewood Act certifying officials who have questions or concerns, please contact us at Veterans Education Services via e-mail at EducationServices@tvc.texas.gov or phone at 512-463-3168.

Thank you for your continued support of veterans and their families as they pursue their educational goals!


 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

  • I registered my Hazlewood account a few years ago when I was taking classes.  Now I can’t remember the email address and password that I used to set up the account.
    Register a new account using a new email and password. Your information will be immediately available after registering a new account and logging in. Use your first name (not a nickname or initials), date of birth, and social security number.
  • If I have used Hazlewood in the past, how do I find out how many hours I have left to use?
    Register and log in to your Hazlewood account.  You will see your “hours used” and subtract that number from 150 (the total any one student may receive).  If you do not see hours used, the school did not post your hours against the Hazlewood Act.  Call 877-898-3833 for assistance.
  • I can’t find the Hazlewood database registration link.  Where is it?
    You may visit https://hazlewood.tvc.texas.gov/students/Account/Register.
  • How can I stop one Legacy child from using my Hazlewood benefit and assign it to another child?
    To revoke a Legacy Child’s hours in the current semester, use the following form: Revocation_of_Previously_Assigned_Texas_Hazlewood_Act_Exemption_Hours-Updated-08DEC21.pdf
    After revoking the hours from one child, the veteran will continue the application process for the second child to share the benefit.
  • Why do I see “no hours used” when I register on the database?  Does this mean I have the whole 150 hours to use, now?
    Register and Perhaps.  If you have never used Hazlewood, a “0” indicates no hours have been charged.  If you have used Hazlewood, and you see “0” hours, please contact us at 877-898-3833.
  • I’m going to get married; do I change my last name for Hazlewood?
    No action is required or necessary.
  • Does the student need to be enrolled in a degree program or certificate course?
    Yes, A student must meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the spouse/child of an MIA, KIA, or service-connected deceased Veteran. (40 TAC §461.50) & (40 TAC §461.60).
  • Proof of Eligibility:
    It is the veteran’s responsibility to provide the appropriate proof of eligibility as specified in:
    • 461.40: (5) provide to the institution a completed Hazlewood Act Exemption Application and the supporting documentation, as provided in §461.90 of this subchapter (relating to Supporting Documentation for the Hazlewood Act Exemption Application), no later than the last class date of the semester or term to which the exemption applies.

 

DEPENDENTS AND SPOUSES

WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR “SPOUSE / DEPENDENTS”?

  • A Spouse / Dependent must: Be the spouse/dependent of a Hazlewood Act benefit-eligible veteran who is determined by the VA to be 100% total and permanent service-connected veteran or one who became disabled for purposes of employability because of a service-related injury or illness.  The veteran must have been KIA, MIA, or died as a result of service-related injuries or illness.
  • Are there requirements for the spouse/dependent to be enrolled in a degree or certificate program?
    To use the exemption, a veteran, Legacy, or Spouse/Dependent (Child with own hours) must be enrolled in a certificate program or degree program with a degree plan.
  • Which children may be eligible for the Hazlewood Act spouse/dependents?
    The child must be a biological, adopted, stepchild or dependent claimed in the current or previous tax year.
  • As the veteran, do I have to reside in Texas, while my child uses my hours under “Legacy”?
    Yes. The veteran uses their Hazlewood exemption when they share it with a Legacy child. Each person who is eligible to use the Hazlewood Act must currently reside in Texas; (40 TAC §461.40) & (40 TAC §461.70). Each Legacy child, dependent, or spouse must be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; (40 TAC §461.70).
  • As the veteran, do I have to reside in Texas, even though I am 100% totally and permanently disabled and individually unemployable? No. A veteran who is totally and permanently disabled and individually unemployable is not required to maintain Texas residency while their eligible child and/or spouse are using their Child/Spouse Hazlewood Act benefits.

 

LEGACY TRANSFERABILITY

  • Can I transfer my unused hours to multiple children under Legacy?
    Yes. However, you can only transfer unused hours to one eligible child at a time, you may not exceed 150 hours total, regardless of how you distribute the hours among multiple children.
  • Can more than one child use the transferred benefit at the same time, even if they attend different colleges?
    No. Only one Legacy child may use the transferred hours at a time.
  • Can an IRS dependent continue to use the veterans’ benefit after the veteran dies?
    Yes, If the child was using the veterans’ benefit already as an IRS dependent and there is a tax transcript, the child may continue to use the hours. The veterans’ legal next of kin, entrusted with the veteran’s estate may sign on behalf of the deceased veteran.
    A grandchild living with their grandparents may be eligible to receive the veterans’ unused hours, by proving they are a dependent via IRS transcripts or court records of adoption, legal guardianship, or full custody.
    There must be a document to prove the veteran’s intention to transfer their Hazlewood exemption to the designated grandchild (i.e., a will, adoption court records, other legal documents).
  • Can a grandchild, who recently moved into their grandparent’s home, use the veterans’ hours even though the veteran is now deceased?
    The Hazlewood Act cannot be transferred to a child by the deceased veteran’s executor unless there are supporting documents to substantiate the veteran intended to transfer the benefit (i.e., a will, adoption, court records, or IRS tax transcripts showing the veteran regarded the child as a dependent, etc.).
    When a child who recently moved into a relative’s home to be cohabitating with the grandparent, there is no established custodial relationship between the veteran and child. The relationship must be proven through legal documentation. Without the supporting document(s), the child may not apply for the Hazlewood Act tuition exemption benefit of their deceased veteran grandparent. There must be a clear legal link established between the grandchild and the deceased veteran grandparent.
  • Can a biological father, whose child was adopted by another person or family, still receive transferred hours under Legacy?
    If the biological father wants to transfer his Hazlewood Act eligibility – and the child and veteran parent meet eligibility requirements – then, yes, the child may use the veteran parent’s benefit.
    There are no existing provisions in either the State Education Code or the TVC’s Admin Rules, that preclude a biological child of a Hazlewood Act benefit-eligible veteran from receiving that benefit once the child is (legally) adopted by a stepparent.
    [ EDUCATION CODE CHAPTER 54. TUITION AND FEES (texas.gov)] [ Texas Administrative Code (state.tx.us) ]
  • Is there an age minimum for Legacy and Dependent children?
    No. There is no age minimum specified in the Texas Statutes or Administrative Rules governing the Hazlewood Act exemption benefit.
  • What is the age limit for the Legacy Child?
    A Legacy child must stop using the Hazlewood Act exemption when they reach 26 years of age.  After 26, the benefit is no longer available to them.
    .
  • Is there an age limit for a spouse or dependent who has their very own Hazlewood hours?
    No. There is no age limit for a child, spouse, or dependent who has their own Hazlewood hours. Each veteran family member may receive their own 150 tuition hours if the veteran is 100%, total and permanent, service-connected by the VA.

 

MILITARY DUTY

  • Can active-duty service-members transfer unused hours to their child under Legacy?
    Perhaps. It is possible to use the Hazlewood Act or Child Legacy Act while on active duty, if the servicemember has been released or discharged from previous military service and received a DD-214 that qualifies the veteran to receive the Hazlewood Act.
  • What is the required amount of active-duty service? Is it 180 or 181 active-duty days?
    The requirement amount is “more than 180 days” of active-duty service, excluding initial entry training for the veteran.
  • I am a veteran who has more than one DD-Form 214, do I still meet Hazlewood eligibility of 181 active-duty days?
    Yes. The law requires more than 180 days of Hazlewood Act exemption qualifying federal military service, excluding initial entry training. The law does not specify nor require the full 181 active-duty days to fall under one continuous period.
  • My discharge is listed as “other than honorable.”  Can I use the Hazlewood Act exemption?
    No. You must have a discharge type of “honorable” or “under honorable conditions, general,” or equivalent language.
  • My military documents state that I have an “honorable separation” as opposed to an “honorable discharge.”  Can I still qualify for the Hazlewood Act?
    Yes. In September 1996, the Texas Attorney General issued an opinion that military personnel honorably separated after being on active duty may qualify for the Hazlewood Act exemption if they meet other program requirements.
  • Can an active-Duty Service Member assigned in Texas receive in-state tuition?
    An active-duty service member assigned in Texas with their family, receive in-state tuition – Public Law 110-315, section 114 amends section 135 [  https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-110publ315/pdf/PLAW-110publ315.pdf  ]:‘‘SEC. 135. IN-STATE TUITION RATES FOR MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES ON ACTIVE DUTY, SPOUSES, AND DEPENDENT CHILDREN. ‘‘(a) REQUIREMENT—In the case of a member of the armed forces who is on active duty for a period of more than 30 days and whose domicile or permanent duty station is in a State that receives assistance under this Act, such State shall not charge such member (or the spouse or dependent child of such member)” tuition for attendance at a public institution of higher education.”
    in the State at a rate that is greater than the rate charged for residents in the state.
    residents of the State.

    (a)  Military personnel are classified as provided by this section.

    (b)  A person who is an officer, enlisted person, selectee, or draftee of the Army, Army Reserve, Army National Guard, Air National Guard, Air Force, Air Force Reserve, Navy, Navy Reserve, Marine Corps, Marine Corps Reserve, Coast Guard, or Coast Guard Reserve of the United States, who is assigned to duty in Texas, and the spouse and children of such an officer, enlisted person, selectee, or draftee, are entitled to register in a state institution of higher education by paying the tuition fee and other fees or charges required of Texas residents, without regard to the length of time the officer, enlisted person, selectee, or draftee has been assigned to duty or resided in the state.  However, out-of-state Army National Guard or Air National Guard members attending training with Texas Army or Air National Guard units under National Guard Bureau regulations may not be exempted from nonresident tuition by virtue of that training status nor may out-of-state Army, Air Force, Navy, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard Reserves training with units in Texas under similar regulations be exempted from nonresident tuition by virtue of that training status.  It is the intent of the legislature that only those members of the Army or Air National Guard or other reserve forces mentioned above be exempted from the nonresident tuition fee and other fees and charges only when they become members of Texas units of the military organizations mentioned above.

    (c)  The spouse or child of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who has been assigned to duty elsewhere immediately following assignment to duty in Texas is entitled to pay the tuition fees and other fees or charges provided for Texas residents if the spouse or child resides continuously in Texas.

    (d)  A spouse or dependent child of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, who is not assigned to duty in Texas but who has previously resided in Texas for a six-month period, is entitled to pay the tuition fees and other fees or charges provided for Texas residents for a term or semester at an institution of higher education if the member:

    1.  at least one year preceding the first day of the term or semester executed a document with the applicable military service that is in effect on the first day of the term or semester and that:

    (A)  indicates that the member’s permanent residence address is in Texas; and

    (B)  designates Texas as the member’s place of legal residence for income tax purposes; 

    • Active Duty Service Members assigned in Texas: If active duty and assigned in Texas – the service member and family receive in-state tuition: Public Law 110-315, section 114 amends section 135 [  https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-110publ315/pdf/PLAW-110publ315.pdf ]: ‘‘SEC. 135. IN-STATE TUITION RATES FOR MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES ON ACTIVE DUTY, SPOUSES, AND DEPENDENT CHILDREN. ‘‘(a) REQUIREMENT.—In the case of a member of the armed forces who is on active duty for a period of more than 30 days and whose domicile or permanent duty station is in a State that receives assistance under this Act, such State shall not charge such member (or the spouse or dependent child of such member) tuition for attendance at a public institution of higher education in the State at a rate that is greater than the rate charged for residents of the State. ‘‘(b) CONTINUATION.—If a member of the armed forces (or the spouse or dependent child of a member) pays tuition at a public institution of higher education in a State at a rate determined by subsection (a), the provisions of subsection (a) shall continue to apply to such member, spouse, or dependent while continuously enrolled at that institution, notwithstanding a subsequent change in the permanent duty station of the member to a location outside the State. ‘‘(c) EFFECTIVE DATE.—This section shall take effect at each public institution of higher education in a State that receives assistance under this Act for the first period of enrollment at such institution that begins after July 1, 2009. ‘‘(d) DEFINITIONS.—In this section, the terms ‘armed forces’ and ‘active duty for a period of more than 30 days’ have the meanings given those terms in section 101 of title 10, United States Code.’’

DISCHARGE ISSUES

  • Does a veteran need to provide their DD214 to qualify?
    Yes. The Veteran must provide a qualifying DD-214 or equivalent documentation to prove their eligibility for the Hazlewood Act exemption.
  • I can’t find my DD214.  Where can I get a copy?
    The fastest way to obtain a copy is to submit your request via the NARA website at National Archives: Veterans’ Service Record .  Also, you make your request via mail by sending in a Standard Form 180.  Standard Form 180 can be obtained from The National Archives website.
  • If the veteran has a poor-quality copy of their DD-214 or is waiting to receive a correction to the DD-214, is the student able to apply for Hazlewood Act tuition exemption?
    It is the school’s decision if they will accept in good faith the poor-quality DD-214 (while waiting for the DD215 to be generated, received by the veteran, and submitted to the IHE), or deny the benefit.

 

RESIDENCY OF VETERAN

  • Can a veteran whose place of entry is in another state qualify for the Hazlewood Act benefits if the veteran was an established Texas resident at the time of entry?
    Yes. A veteran must prove that they were a Texas resident at the time of entry into military service, entered the service in the State of Texas, or declared Texas as their home of record. The burden of proof is on the veteran to prove their Texas residency through supporting documents (i.e., federal tax records, high school/college transcripts, voter registration, Texas property tax filings, etc.).
  • Does an individual have to be a U.S. citizen when they enter service to receive the Hazlewood Act benefits?
    No.  U.S. citizenship is no longer a requirement.
  • If the veteran is now a Texas resident, but was not at the time of entry to active-duty service, can they qualify for the Hazelwood Act?
    No. The veteran must have entered the service in the state of Texas; or, declared Texas as their home of record at the time of entry into the service; or prove they were a Texas state resident at that time. Additionally, military orders, separating military service from Texas, having a Texas driver license, retiring in Texas, owning property in Texas, reenlisting in Texas, current or last duty station assignments in Texas, disability rating or having recently established Texas residency are not relevant factors used to determine a veteran’s eligibility for Hazlewood.
  • If someone from another state re-enlists after establishing residency in Texas, can they be eligible for Hazlewood Act benefits?
    Possibly.
    After completing the initial Service obligation, the veteran separates from their service and establishes Texas residency* (12 months) and re-enters the Service in the state of Texas or declares Texas as the home of record, and meets all other Hazlewood requirements, then the veteran may qualify for the Hazlewood Act.
    *Note if the Veteran was stationed in Texas under military orders at the end of the initial enlistment period, the time while stationed in Texas does not count toward the establishment of residence in Texas for the subsequent enlistment.

 

COLLEGE CHARGES

  • How does the exemption work?  Will I get a check in the mail for tuition?
    No. The Hazlewood Act exempts qualified students from paying tuition, and most fees, while enrolled in classes at public institutions of higher education in Texas, up to 150 semester hours. If the cost of the digital textbook and access to the instructional content is established in the course program as a specific lab and/or course fee, then Hazlewood Act benefits users should be exempt from paying the fee associated with that class.
  • What charges are NOT covered?
    Books, supplies, living expenses, property deposits, and student services fees are NOT covered. If digital textbook and access code fees are considered by the IHE to be textbooks required for taking the classes, and all students taking those classes purchase or lease their books and content, then Hazlewood would not cover the cost. The purchase/lease price will be the student’s responsibility.
  • Is there a waiver if I have not received all my supporting documents?Use the 60-day deferment form when the student is missing a supporting document. The form establishes the deferment for an extension of time up to 60 days from the first day of the semester. Deferment Form.

 

STACKING HAZLEWOOD AND G.I. BILL® AT THE SAME TIME

  • Is the veteran mandated by law to stack their federal education benefit with Hazlewood?
    The use of an individual’s VA education benefits is the choice of the beneficiary – there are no rules, mandates, requirements that compel a beneficiary to use their benefit(s), or to use them at an institution of higher education. The beneficiary has the choice to stack their VA education benefit with Hazlewood. The beneficiary may elect not to use their benefit for a semester or multiple semesters or at a particular IHE.
  • Is the student mandated to stack VA education benefits with Hazlewood?
    NO, if the student wants to pay for attendance out-of-pocket, there is no prescribed requirement to use their Hazlewood Act benefit; it is the beneficiary’s option to use (and if used, comply with applicable rules), or not use.


STUDENT FINANCIAL AID

  • Is financial aid an eligibility requirement?
    No.  The Hazlewood Act benefits are awarded regardless of financial need, and they are completely unaffected and independent from one and the other.
  • Are students allowed to use the Hazlewood Act for credit courses, while in default of a student loan made or guaranteed by the state of Texas?
    No.
    A student who has defaulted on a loan that was made or guaranteed by the state of Texas is disqualified from receiving Hazlewood Act benefits. Currently, the state loans that apply to the rule are Hinson-Hazlewood Stafford Loans, Hinson-Hazlewood Health Education Loans (HELP), Hinson-Hazlewood College Access Loans (CAL), uninsured Texas Opportunity Plan Loans (TOP) and the Texas B-On-Time Student Loan administered by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
  • If it is discovered that a student defaulted on a state of Texas education loan, do they have to pay the school back for class they took using Hazlewood?
    Yes.
    If the student is in default of a state education loan, the school can require repayment of all Hazlewood exempt tuition and fees.

  • What is the GPA standard or requirement to continue applying for Hazlewood Act tuition exemption?
    Hazlewood Administrative Rule 461.20 (19): Satisfactory academic progress–A grade point average that satisfies the institution’s requirement for making satisfactory academic progress toward a degree or certificate in accordance with the institution’s policy regarding eligibility for financial aid. This requirement does not apply to spouses or children of veterans who died from a service-related injury or illness, or who were classified as missing in action (MIA) or killed in action (KIA).-  Degree or Certificate Program: A reminder – For a veteran, Legacy, or Spouse/Dependent (Child with own hours) to use the Hazlewood Act benefit exemption, they must be enrolled in a certificate program or degree plan.
  • Is it possible to receive the Hazlewood Act benefits and federal VA educational benefits concurrently?
    Yes.
    If the student is receiving federal VA education benefits other than the Post-9/11 GI Bill® (Chapter 33 or any other benefits designated only for payment of tuition and fees), the student may receive both benefits concurrently.
    • If the student is receiving federal VA education benefits for payment of tuition and fees, they may receive both benefits concurrently only if the federal VA tuition and fees benefit amount does not equal or exceed the Hazlewood exemption value.
    • If a Veteran has active-duty service AFTER September 11th, 2001, the student must provide a copy of their Department of Veterans Affairs Certificate of Eligibility (CoE) for federal education benefits from the VA indicating the student’s benefit type and amount, the inclusive dates of payment, and the remaining entitlement at the end of the award period.

 

TYPES OF COURSES COVERED

  • Does the Hazlewood Act Exemption cover teacher certification fees?
    No.  The teacher certification fee is not an institutional fee.  It is a fee required by the State Board for Educator Certification and is paid directly to that board.
  • Does the Hazlewood Act Exemption cover credit by examination?
    Yes. Since Texas Education Code 54.341 (a) refers to exemption from “all dues, fees, and charges,” the exemption would include charges for credit by examination.
  • Will Hazlewood Act Exemption benefits pay for continuing education classes?
    Institutions are NOT required to offer Hazlewood Act benefits to veterans enrolled in continuing education classes for which the college or university receives no formula funding (tax support).However, the college or university may choose to permit this option.
  • Can Hazlewood Act benefits be used for graduate school?
    Yes. Hazlewood Act benefits may be used for graduate studies, including law school or any other program of study at public institutions (other than continuing education) if the veteran has not accumulated 150 credit hours using Hazlewood Act benefits since fall of 1995.
  • Can the student use Hazlewood at two schools in the same semester?
    An eligible Hazlewood beneficiary may use their benefit at more than one college/university during the same semester or term; they must meet the same requirements in both and be enrolled in a degree or certificate program and meet all other requirements of the TX Education Code and Admin Rules for both IHEs.
    • There are no stated restrictions or limitations in the TEC or Admin Rules denying/restricting/limiting a Hazlewood beneficiary from using their benefit at more than one IHE at a time.
  • Are online courses covered by the Hazlewood Act?
    Conditionally, yes.  If the classes receive formula funding, taken through Texas public institutions, and the charges are not paid to a third party, they may be covered by the Hazlewood Act.
  • Are aircraft training courses covered by the Hazlewood Act?
    Possibly, yes. The governing board of a junior or community college may establish a fee for extraordinary costs associated with a specific course of program such as flight training, diesel mechanics or other classes in which fees are higher than that of a normal class, and the school may charge higher fees(s) for specific courses that will not be fully covered by the Hazlewood Act Exemption for fees.

 

RECORDING INFORMATION / REPORTING

  • What information will be made available upon signing the release form?
    All students using the Hazlewood Act benefit are required to register on the Hazlewood online databaseto sign a release which allows the Texas Veterans Commission, along with any institution the veteran may attend, access to the number of credit hours attempted in the current and previous years.
  • How are the semester hours used under the Hazlewood Act reported in the online database?
    The Hazlewood Database reporting is done by fiscal/academic year.  The fiscal/academic year starts with the Fall Term. As a result of this, the year listed for Fall Terms in the database are always going to be one year ahead of the actual calendar year in which the student attended.  For example, if you attended a school from August 2014 (calendar year) to May 2015 (calendar year), your hours used will be listed in the database as having attended the Fall 2015 and Spring 2015 terms.
  • How will the Hazlewood credit hours be tracked and recorded?
    The governing board of each institution shall report to the Texas Veterans Commission information relating to everyone receiving an exemption from tuition and fees throughout the Hazlewood Exemption.
  • Do the veteran and the legacy child both must register with the Texas Veterans Commission online database?
    The veteran registers so that the standard and/or legacy hours used by both the veteran and the legacy child are correctly accounted under the veteran’s Veteran Records.  The legacy child registers so that the college/university may account for who attended class and used the veteran’s benefit hours. By accounting for the hours used by both the veteran and legacy child, they can determine the remaining benefit hours, who has used which hours, at which school and the total hours used.
    Each student who is eligible to use the Hazlewood Act must currently reside in Texas; (40 TAC §461.40) & (40 TAC §461.70).
    Each Legacy child, dependent, or spouse must be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; (
    40 TAC §461.70).
  • Previously used hours not in Hazlewood database: If the TVC does not have the veterans record(s) of previously used hours in our Hazlewood Act Database, the IHE must default to the position that the veteran has 150 semester credit hours available which the veteran may use or transfer to an eligible Legacy child.
    • Veterans who used the benefit 20, 30, or 40+ years ago may not have records that may or may not have been recorded by the institution, provided to the THECB or TVC and uploaded into a pre-existing database that would have transferred the veteran’s records to the current Hazlewood Act database. Without the proof of previously used hours, the veteran may receive the full 150 semester credit hour exemption.