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v’ STEP0:

START AT THE
TEXAS VETERANS
COMMISSION
HOMEPAGE AND
IDENTIFY THE
HAZLEWOOD ACT
LINKS

QUICK LINKS

Military Veteran Peer Network
Women Veterans Program
Veteran Entrepreneur Program
Healthcare Initiative Advocates
Hazlewood Act

Retiree Corner

Texas Coordinating Council for
Veterans Services

Public Information Policy
Community Resources
Find Your Local Office
TVC Directory

Subscribe to E-Vets

Applications Now Posted

The Fund for Veterans' Assistance
has posted the General Assistance -
Series 168, Housing For Texas
Heroes, Veterans Mental Health, and
Veterans Treatment Court Request
for Applications to seek applications
from eligible organizations for grant
funding.

& I ELIGIBLE ORGANIZATIONS
APPLY FOR A GRANT
NOW!

Welcome to the Texas Veterans Commission

The Texas Vet@ans Commission was created in 1927 as the State Senvice Office to assist veterans of the Indian wars,
Spanish-Amerflan War and World War |. Our purpose has always been to act as the state appointed advocate of Texas
veterans as th@ attempt to secure the benefits rightfully earned in exchange for their service in our nation's armed forces.




v' STEP 1.

REVIEW THE

TEXAS VETERANS
COMMISSION’S
HAZLEWOOD ACT
HOMEPAGE AND
DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY
QUALIFICATIONS FOR
THE VETERAN,

LEGACY (Child), CHILD,
AND SPOUSE - -
DETERMINE IF YOU ARE

ELIGIBLE.
FOLLOW THE STARS.....7<

http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx

Education
Hazlewood
Hazlewood FAQ

Montgomery Gl Bill

WILENTOD AT .

weuchToNTuroRAL b puceewaon emucaron
ONLINE DATABASE

FRECUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Post-9/11
Fry Scholarship

On the Job Training

Gl Bill Approved Programs

Apply to Train Veterans

Office Hours

Education Contacts

ol THER

The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an
education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at public institutions of higher education
in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.
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STEP 1 (CONTINUED):
REVIEW THE

TEXAS VETERANS
COMMISSION’S
HAZLEWOOD ACT
HOMEPAGE AND
DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY
QUALIFICATIONS FOR
THE VETERAN,

LEGACY (Child), CHILD,
AND SPOUSE - -
DETERMINE IF YOU ARE
ELIGIBLE.

Veteran Qualifications

A Veteran must:

s At the time of entry into active duty the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in
Texas: or was a Texas resident:

* Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the
Veteran's Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214);

« Served at least 181 days of active duty semice (excluding training);

s Hawve no federal Veteran's education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of
tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood
benefits;

+ Mot be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;

s Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e.. a course that does not depend solely on student tuition
and fees to cover its cost), unless the college's governing board has ruled to let Weterans receive the benefit while taking
non-funded courses; and

s NMeet the GPA reguirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as
determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and. as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted
an excessive amount of credit hours.

Weterans who are granted their first Hazlewood Act exemption beginning fall, 2011 must reside in Texas during the semester

or term for which the exemption is claimed. This requirement does not apply to the Veterans who either received the

exemption prior to the 2011-2012 academic year, have reenlisted into active duty, or reside with a spouse who is on active
duty.

Hazlewood Act application process

A Veteran must:

s Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university of his/her choice. Go to www applytexas. org to apply or
use your institution's application for admission;

e Provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense regarding military service and the nature of discharge;

e Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for Gl Bill benefits (Chapter 31, 33/Post-9/11) by requesting a certificate of eligibility
for federal education benefits from gBenefits (if Veteran has active duty service after 31172001} You will need to create a
username and password to request your certificate of eligibility;

s Fill out the Hazlewood Exemption application form; and

e Turn in the Hazlewood Exemption application form, a copy of yvour letter of eligibility/ineligibility, and a copy of your DD214
into the financial aid office of the institution yvou will be attending.

Applications and all supporting documentation must be received by the institution no later than the last day of class in order

to be evaluated for the semester or term.

Determine institution eligibility for the Hazlewood Act

Eligible Institutions:

The Hazlewood Act is available only for use at a Texas public college or university. To access listings of Texas public colleges
and universities, follow this link: Texas Institutions of Higher Education and select any of the schools listed under the Texas
Public Institutions. The schools listed under Independent (Private) Institutions do NOT gqualify for this exemption.



STEP 1 (CONTINUED):
REVIEW THE

TEXAS VETERANS
COMMISSION’S
HAZLEWOOD ACT
HOMEPAGE AND
DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY
QUALIFICATIONS FOR
THE VETERAN,

LEGACY (Child), CHILD,
AND SPOUSE - -
DETERMINE IF YOU ARE
ELIGIBLE.

Legacy Act (Child)

Eligible Veterans may assign/dnused hours of exemption eligibility to a child under certain conditions.

Qualifications

A child {legacy recipient) must:

» Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident;

» Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year;

o Be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an
extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition); and

o Meet the GPA requirement of the institution's satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as
determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted
an excessive amount of credit hours.

Legacy recipients will receive an exemption for the number of degree certified hours reported by the institution for that term aor

semester. Maximum degree certified hours awarded to the Legacy recipient will be dependent upon the degree or certificate

program in which the student is enrolled for that term or semester and shall be consistent with the program length as defined

within the school catalog as approved by the regional accreditation commission. *If a child to whom hours have been

delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another child.

Only one child will use Hazlewood Legacy benefits at a time.

Legacy Act Application Process

Qualifications

A child (legacy recipient) of a Veteran must:

¢ Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university. Go to www applytexas org to apply or use your institution’s
application for admission;

e Fill out the Hazlewood Exemption Application;

» Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for Gl Bill benefits (Chapter 31, 33/Post-9/11) by requesting a certificate of eligibility
for federal education benefits from eBenefits. You will need to create a username and password to request your certificate

of eligibility;
s Take both applications, letter of eligibility/ineligibility (if needed), along with a copy of the Weteran's DD214, to the financial
aid office of the institution you will be attending.
Applications and all supporting documentation must be received by the institution no later than the last day of class of a term
in order to be evaluated for that semester or term.



STEP 1 (CONTINUED):
REVIEW THE

TEXAS VETERANS
COMMISSION’S
HAZLEWOOD ACT
HOMEPAGE AND
DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY
QUALIFICATIONS FOR
THE VETERAN,

LEGACY (Child), CHILD,
AND SPOUSE - -
DETERMINE IF YOU ARE
ELIGIBLE.

Hazlewood Act for Spouse/Child

Spouses and dependent children of eligible Active Duty, Reserve, and Texas Mational Guard who died in the line of duty or as
a result of injury or illness directly related to military service, are missing in action, or who became totally disabled for
purposes of employability as a result of a service-related injury or illness are entitled to each receive a 150 credit hours

exemption.

Qualifications

A spouse must:

Be a spouse of a Veteran who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, be classified by the institution as a Texas
resident, designated Texas as Home of Record, or entered the senice in Texas;

Be a spouse of a Veteran of the U.S5. Armed Forces or the Texas Mational Guard who died as a result of service-related
injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled {(100%) as a result of service-related injury or illness or is
entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual employability (IU} due to a serice connected injury or
illness;

Have no federal Weterans education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of
tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood
benefits;

Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and

Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as
determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and. as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted
an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the spouse of a MIA, KIA, or service connected
deceased Weteran.

A child must:

Be a child of a Veteran who, at the time of entry into the U.5. Armed Forces, be classified by the institution as a Texas
resident, designated Texas as Home of Record, or entered the semnice in Texas;

Be a child of a Weteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, Texas Mational Guard, or Texas Air Mational Guard who died as a result
of serice-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of a service-related
injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual employability (IU) due to a semrice
connected injury or illness;

Have no federal Weterans education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of
tuition and fees only {such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood
benefits;

» Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and

Meet the GPA reqguirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as
determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and. as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted
an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the child of a MIA, KIA, or serice connected
deceased Veteran.



Education

STEP 1 (Conclusion):

Montgomery Gl Bill

AFTER REVIEWING THE
TEXAS VETERANS

COMMISSION’S s
HAZLEWOOD ACT
HOMEPAGE AND
DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY
QUALIFICATIONS FOR

THE VETERAN,

LEGACY (Child), CHILD,
AND SPOUSE - - -

On the Job Training

Gl Bill Approved Programs

IF YOU ARE ELIGIBLE, OPEN THE
HAZLEWOOQOD APPLICATION

HAZLEWDOD ACT

APPLICATION TUTORIAL HAZLEWOOD APPLICATION

HAZLEWODD DOCUMENTS

FREQUENTLY ".SKED BLESTIONS AND ANSWERS

ONLINE DATABASE

The Hazlewood Act is a State of J#as benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an
education benefit of up to 150 J@rs of tuition exemption. including most fee charges. at public institutions of higher education

CHILD (LEGACY) % CHILD/SPOUSE A'

ary 26, 2015, the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas ruled that the requirement that
s must have entered service in Texas in order to be eligible to receive the Texas Hazlewood exemption of
on and fees at public schools (the fixed point residency requirement) was unconstitutional.

VETEP'A

On May 12, 2015, the office of the Texas State Attorney General filed an appeal in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Note: The Texas Veterans Commission is not a party to appeal.

Current Hazlewood eligibility requirements remain unchanged, except for the individual specifically named in the
lawsuit.

Veteran Qualifications

A Veteran must:

o At the time of entry into active duty the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in
Texas; or was a Texas resident;

o Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the
Veteran's Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214);

e Served at least 181 days of active duty semvice (excluding training);

* Have no federal Veteran's education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of
tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood
benefits;



v' STEP 2:

READ THE APPLICATION’S
INSTRUCTIONS AND
DETERMINE WHICH
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS
SPECIFICALLY APPLY TO YOU -

REMEMBER, THE SUPPORTING
DOCUMENTS AND
APPLICATION ARE SUBMITTED
TO THE COLLEGE OR
UNIVERSITY YOU HAVE BEEN
ACCEPTED TO ATTEND.

FA e Tl
(& Ay . . .
&< :-p- -’;':I Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Application TVC-ED-1a
\= . - . . .
sz Supporting Documentation Instructions B e 1ot 1
o .»
S _—

To apply for the Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption, you must submit the following documents
to your college or university:

1. The Hazlewood Exemption Application [completed and signed).

2. Report of Separation or Discharge, DD Form 214 {and DD Form 215 if the DD Form 214 has been amended) — To
wverify the Weteran's place of entry, home of record at the time of entry, character of service, length of service, and
dates of service. The copy you prowide to your institution must be legible and containthe information listed abowe.

A DD Form 214 may be obtained from the National Archives: hitp: fSwwew archive s.g owfveterans,
- Phone: 314-201-0800 - E-mail: MPR. center@nara.gow

If the Weteran was discharged prior to January 1, 1950 previoushy used separation dooamernts may be used. If the
Veteran's DD Form 214 was destroyed in the Mational Archives fire in 19735 or is otherwise unawvailable, then the
following documents may be used:

& MNA Form 1038, Certification of Military Service
s Documentation from the Mational Archives that the Veteran' s NA Form 1032 was sent in lieu of the DD Form
214 dueto the DD Form 214 not being on file

s Documentation that Weteran met the requirements of Subchapter B, Texas Education Code § 54 for resident
tuition on the date of entry into adtive duty indicated on the DD Form 214

3. Certificate of Eligibility for federal Gl Bill benefits — To verify eligibility for the Veteran's, or dependent’ s federal
education benefits. Certificates of eligibility may be obtained by completing an application on the Veterans Online
Application (WOMAPP) website at http: /S www wabenefits. vhawa gow/vonapp/default . asp.

e |f the Yeteran’'sfinal discharge is prior to 9/11/2001 the certificate of eligibility is not required.

4. If the Veteran died while in service: Report of Casualty, Form DD Form 1300 — To werify the Weteran’s place of
entry, and that his/her death was service related.

5. If the Veteran is deceased {not service connected) — Death Certificate for deceased Weteran for use in a Legacy
transfer.

&. If the Veteran is totally disabled or individ ually unemployable due to military service-related illness or injury: ¥You
rmust hawe a current disability ratings dedsion letter from the WA indicating that rating.

7. I you are not the Yeteran, Relationship Documentation —Submit one or more of the following documents to verify
wour relationship to the eligible Weteran.
+ Birth Certificate, or Marriage Certificate, or Adoption Papers, or Recent Income Tax Return

= Weterans must reside inthe state of Texas during the term that the exemption will be used. This requirement does
not apply to Weterans who have reenlisted back into active duty, reside with a spouse whao is on active duty, or who
have continuously used the exemption sinoe fall 2011,

s Children and spouse of eligible Weterans must be classified as a Texas resident by their institution.

2. Hazlewood Online Database Registration — To comply with the Federal Educational Rights and Priwacy Act (FERPA)
requirements, all applicants [Weteran and dependents) must register into the Hazlewood online database to use the
Hazlewood Exermnption at https: ffwwwl thech. state ty.usfappsfhsh/stude ntsy,




STEP 2 (CONTINUED):

THE LEGACY APPLICATION IS COMPLETED
WITH BOTH THE VETERAN’S AND LEGACY’S
INFORMATION AT THE TOP OF THE FORM,
AND PARTS “Al’ “B”’ “c"' llD”’ AND llE”.

IF ONLY THE VETERAN IS APPLYING, THEN
COMPLETE THE TOP PORTION, PART “A”", “C”,
AND “D” ONLY.

IF A CHILD (w/ OWN HOURS) OR SPOUSE OF
A 100% (TOTALLY AND PERMANENTLY)
DISABLED VETERAN, KIA, MIA, OR
INDIVIDUALLY UNEMPLOYABLE VETERAN IS
APPLYING, THEN COMPLETE THE TOP
PORTION, AND PARTS “A” (THE VETERAN'S
INFORMATION), “B”, “C”, AND “D”.

LN

S .
(E: }\";‘I Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption —
A : : EFf. fune 2014
\_f/f Application ngnt af2

For (Term)

(¥ ear)

SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION TO YOUR COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY

Each Weteran, child, or spouse applying to receive an exemption through the Hazlewood Act, [Texas Education
Code §54.341) must complete and =ign this application and provide the institution with the documentation
required to werify eligibility as indicated in thiz packet. Submit this application and all =upporting
documentation to your institution's Ha zlewood Exemption administrator.

I am applying as:

lam:

anapplicant applying for the first time; or
a previous Hazlewood recipient who has used hours at

a WVeteran intending to use the Hazlewood Exern ption

a child intendingto receive a Legacy transfer of benefits

a child of a totally dizabled, =ersice-related deceazed, K12, or MIA Veteran

a spouse of a totally disabled, service—qelated deceaszed, K128, or MIA Veteran

institution(s).

Total prior hours used: Veteran Legacy (transferred hrs.) Spouse . Child wyown hrs)

| Part & — Veteran's Information

WVeteran's Mame:

LastMame
Veteran's 55M:

Firt Mame A

Date of Birth: ! / [P S DOy

Veteran's student |D#:

Address:

Street
Phone Mumber:

City St TipCode
Ernail address:

| Part B — Other User Information

Relationship to Veteran:
Biological Child D 5tep-child

Child's/Spouse's Mame:

[D Adopted Child D IRS Dependent D Spouse

LastMame

Child's/Spouse's 55M:

First Mame [

Date of Birth: ! ! [mm;nn,'w'r';:-

Child's/Spouse's ID4:

Address:

Strest
Phone Mumber:

City State Zip Code
Ernail address:

| Part C — Loan Verification

To gualify for the Hazlewood Exemption, the Yeteran, child or spouse cannot be in default on a loan that is
made or guaranteed by the state of Texas. State loans can be viewed at hittp fwanne . hhloans. com,.

Does the Weteran, child or spouse have a loan through the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board?

[[_I?I Yes [[:';, Mo
Ifyes, isthe loan in default statusr

Yes Mo

TExdS WETERAKS COh MESISH

Phane: 1-872-938- 3933 ar 51 2ME% 3163 | TTTOD: Dial 711 | Fan: 5124/36% 3332 | E-kdail: Educalio ni® e e oo | s it bec Lenas gaw

An Bysal Smpariundl p Emplaper



STEP 2 (CONTINUED):

THE LEGACY APPLICATION IS COMPLETED
WITH BOTH THE VETERAN’S AND LEGACY’S
INFORMATION AT THE TOP OF THE FORM,
AND PARTS “A’, “B”, “C”, “D”, AND “E".

IF ONLY THE VETERAN IS APPLYING, THEN
COMPLETE THE TOP PORTION, PART “A”, “C”,
AND “D” ONLY.

IF A CHILD (w/ OWN HOURS) OR SPOUSE OF
A 100% (TOTALLY AND PERMANENTLY)
DISABLED VETERAN, KIA, MIA, OR
INDIVIDUALLY UNEMPLOYABLE VETERAN IS
APPLYING, THEN COMPLETE THE TOP
PORTION, AND PARTS “A” (THE VETERAN’S
INFORMATION), “B”, “C"”, AND “D".

Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption eto
i i . Jume
‘\_/ Application et une 2004

Part D — Veteran, Children and Spouse Certification and Consent

The Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption entitles eligible persons to an exemption of tuition and =pecified fees of
up to 150 semester credit hours at public institutions of higher education in Texas. Except for recipients who
arethe spousze or children of eligible Weterans killed in action, mizzing inaction, or whose death resulted from
a service-related injury or illness; all other Hazlewood recipients must meet the zame satisfactory academic
progress polioy as financial aid recipients at their respective institution.

| grart permission to any institution | have enrolled in or intend to enroll in to release credit hour inform ation
pertaining to my enrollment to the Texaz Veterans Commission and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating
Board, and further grant permizsion to the Commizzion and Board to share =uch information with any
institution that | might attend. | certify that the information | have provided is true and correct to the best of
iy knowledge. | further understand that if | have provided inaccurate, incomplete, or untrue information on
thiz application, | may be required to reimburze the institution for tuition, fees, and penalties pertaining to the
Hazlewood Exemption.

Veteran's signature: Date:
IWataran's signatura 1z nat raguired if the ahigible Wataran & tatally deablad, saricaralatad dacaazad, 1A, o RIA |

Child's/Spouse's Signature: Date:

Part E — Legacy Certification and Consent

The Texas Hazlewood Exemption allows eligible Veterans or a designee to transfer all unuzed hours of the
exemption, up to 150 semester credit hours, to a child who iz 25 years old or younger on the first day of the
term. Lepacy recipients will receive an exemption for the number of degree certified hours associated with the
specific degree or certificate program he or she is enrolled in consistent with the program length as defined in
the =zchool catalog az approved by the regional accreditation commission. Legacy recipients must meet
financial aid satisfactorny academic progress (5A8P) requirements. Assigned hours may be revoked by the
Veteran or the designee.

| [\Veteron) waive the right to all of the unused portion of my Hazlewood
Exemption and grant permission to transfer those unused Hazlewood hours under the Texas Education Code,
% 54.341 (k] (Legacy Act) to my eligible child, [child) .| agree to releasze
current term and historic credit hour information to the Texas Veterans Commission and the Texas Higher
Education Coordinating Board to determine the balance of my unused houwrs. | grant permission for the
Commizzion and Board to share =uch data with amy instikution that my eligible child might attend. | hereby
certify the information | have provided is truge and correct. | understand that if | fail to provide accurate
information, | may be required to reimburse the institution and penalties may be imposed.

Veteran's signature: Date:

Veteran's Designee'’s Signature: Date:

* If the qualifying Veteran iz deceaszed:
Veteran's Child's signature: Date:




v STEP 3: REGISTER WITH THE http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx

TVC'S HAZLEWOOD ACT
ON-LINE DATABASE

AFTER COMPLETING THE
APPLICATION, YOU WILL REGISTER
WITH THE ON-LINE DATABASE; CLICK
THIS LINK TO BEGIN

Education
Hazlewood

Ha
Montgomery Gl Bill
Post-9/11
Fry Scholarship
On the Job Training
Gl Bill Approved Programs
Apply to Train Veterans
Office Hours

Education Contacts

HAZLEWOOD ACT

HAZLEWODD DOCUMENTS

BUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an
education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption. including most fee charges. at public institutions of higher education
in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.

VETERAN P CHILD (LEGACY) 5% CHILD/SPOUSE

*On January 26, 2015, the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas ruled that the requirement that
Veterans must have entered service in Texas in order to be eligible to receive the Texas Hazlewood exemption of
tuition and fees at public schools (the fixed point residency requirement) was unconstitutional.

On May 12, 2015, the office of the Texas State Attorney General filed an appeal in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Note: The Texas Veterans Commission is not a party to appeal.

Current Hazlewood eligibility requirements remain unchanged, except for the individual specifically named in the
lawsuit.

Veteran Qualifications

A Veteran must:

o At the time of entry into active duty the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in
Texas: or was a Texas resident;

e Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the
Veteran's Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214);

e Served at least 181 days of active duty semice (excluding training):

e Have no federal Veteran's education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of
tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood
benefits;



STEP 3 (CONTINUED):

WHEN YOU ARE
REGISTERING

FOR THE FIRST TIME -

OR RENEWING YOUR
REGISTRATION IF YOU HAVE
NOT RE-REGISTERED SINCE
05MAY15 — CLICK THIS LINK

REMINDER: THE VETERAN, THE
LEGACY (CHILD), THE CHILD
(w/OWN HOURS), AND SPOUSE
ARE REQUIRED TO REGISTER
INDIVIDUALLY WITH THEIR OWN
UNIQUE USERNAME ID,
PASSWORD, DOB AND SSAN.

—
P,
N

(‘ | B https://hazlewood tve texas.gov/students

A

‘TEXAS VETERANS
o COMMISSION
y

:
!

: d

Haziewood for Veterans and Students

Administration of the Hazlewood Database is moving from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) to the Texas Veterans
Commission (TVC). The transtion period is from April 17 to May 4, 2015. During this time, you and institutions of higher education will not be able
to access Hazlewood records on the database. On May 4, you will have to reqister again in the new database to view your records. Schools have
already been informed about this transtion and have been asked to work with students during this transition.

Nothing else about Hazlewood Act has changed. Your records of hours used under the Hazlewood Act remain intact. The procedures for applying
and using your hours remain the same. Contact your school for questions regarding Hazlewood qualfication and the application process.

® Copyright 2015 TEXAS VETERANS COMMISSION. Al rights reserved.



STEP 3 (CONTINUED):

FOLLOW THE PROMPTS ON THE
REGISTRATION FORM STARTING WITH
YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, FIRST
NAME, LAST NAME, DATE OF BIRTH AND
THE E-MAIL ADDRESS THAT WILL
BECOME YOUR ACCOUNT USERNAME -

REMINDER: THE VETERAN, THE LEGACY (CHILD),
THE CHILD (w/OWN HOURS), AND SPOUSE ARE
REQUIRED TO REGISTER INDIVIDUALLY WITH
THEIR OWN UNIQUE USERNAME ID, PASSWORD,
DOB AND SSAN.

b, TEXAS VETERANS
@ COMMISSION
»

-y ri

Forgor s

Use the form below to create a new account.

For the purpose of tracking the total number of hours for which | receive this exemption, by my registration, | grant permission to
any educational institution to release current semester and historic credit hour information to the Texas Veterans Commission
(TVC) and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Board) , in accordance with SB 1158, 83rd Texas Legislature,
Regular Session, 2013. By my registration, | further grant permission to the TVC and the Board to share such data with any
educational institution as it pertains to my exemption. if | am a Hazlewood Legacy student, | also grant permission to my
Weteran parent to view the hours | have used.

For questions regarding the above permissions, please contact the TVC by phone at (512) 463-3168, toll-free at 877-898-3833, or
via email at Education@tvc texas gov

Registering into the Hazlewood Exemption online database is a required step in the application pracess for the Hazlewood
Exemption. However, registering into the online database does not confirm eligibility for this benefit.

Passwaords are required to be a minimum of 8 characters in length with at least 1 punctuation character. An account
activation message will be sent to the email address you provide below that you will need to acknowledge to complete
registration.

Social Security Number (9 digits only)

First name (do not include middle name or suffix)

Last name (do not include middle name or suffix)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Email address (this will also be your account username)




STEP 3 (CONTINUED):
COMPLETE THE REGISTRATION
FORM AND CLICK THE REGISTER
BUTTON

AFTER YOU REGISTER, YOU WILL
RECEIVE AN EMAIL FROM THE TVC WITH
AN ACTIVATION LINK, AND THE ANSWER
TO YOUR SECURITY QUESTION - YOU
MUST OPEN THE TVC EMAIL AND
ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT BEFORE YOU
CAN SIGN-IN AND REVIEW THE HOURS
YOU HAVE AVAILABLE.

REMINDER: THE VETERAN, THE LEGACY (CHILD), THE
CHILD (w/OWN HOURS), AND SPOUSE ARE REQUIRED TO
REGISTER INDIVIDUALLY WITH THEIR OWN UNIQUE
USERNAME ID, PASSWORD, DOB AND SSAN.

Email address (this will also be your account username)

oo oeood@TVC. TEXAS. GOV

Password (include at least one punctuation character)

Confirm password

Security question

Select 2 Question H

Security question answer (case sensitive)
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v’ STEP 4:

TEXAS VETERANS

AFTER YOU HAVE REGISTERED, = i @)

AND ACTIVATED YOUR N COMMISSION

ACCOUNT, SIGN-IN AND SELECT v

EITHER THE “l AM A STUDENT”

OR THE “1 AM A VETERAN" e
BUTTON TO REVIEW THE Hazlewood for Veterans and Students

NUMBER OF HAZLEWOOD

HOURS YOU HAVE USED. CIickon the fink button if you are a student and would ike to view Hazlewood hours you used in the past. Make sure the

name, social security number and date of birth you registered with match school records.

Click on the fink button if you are a veteran and would like to view Hazlewood hours associated with you. Make sure the name,
social security number and date of birth you registered with match school records.
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STEP 4 (CONTINUED):

THIS IS A DEPICTION OF THE 3 : “TEééaxlEgsElg?{Ns
VETERAN’S RECORDS AFTER y "
SELECTING THE “I AM A VETERAN"”
BUTTON. ;

Main Manage your account

THIS RECORD SHOWS THE “TOTAL
STANDARD AND LEGACY HOURS TS hecore
USED:” -IN THIS EXAMPLE, THE —
TOTAL HOURS USED IS ZERO, WHICH Last name:
MEANS THAT THE VETERAN HAS NOT gg‘;
USED ANY HAZLEWOOD HOURS AND Total Standard and Legacy Hours Used: 0
HAS 150 SEMESTER HOURS
REMAINING. Record of Standard and Legacy Hours Used

[ IF THE VETERAN HAD USED 75 HOURS, THE Print |

RECORD WOQULD SHOW “TOTAL STANDARD
AND LEGACY HOURS USED: 75". ]

No records found. This simply means there are no records for standard or legacy type hours in the data base associated with you as a veteran
Make sure your account name, social security number and date of bith matches your school records. If it does not match, notify your school(s)
so they may comect your records. Altematively, you may have simply entered incorrect information when you created this account. if so, go to

THE FINAL PORTION OFE STEP 4 IS TO manage and delete this account so you may re-register with the correct information
PRINT A COPY OF THE VETERAN'S, OR
STUDENT'S’ RECORD AND PROVIDE © Copyright 2015 TEXAS VETERANS COMMISSION. All rights reserved

TO THE COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY. |



v’ STEP 5:

AFTER YOU COMPLETE YOUR HAZLEWOOD ACT EXEMPTION APPLICATION AND REGISTERED
WITH THE ON-LINE DATABASE, GATHER ALL OF THE SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED,
YOU WILL SUBMIT COPIES OF THE ENTIRE APPLICATION PACKET TO THE COLLEGE OR

UNIVERSITY YOU ARE ATTENDING.

THE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY WILL REVIEW THE APPLICATION AND SUPPPORTING DOCUMENTS
TO ENSURE COMPLETENESS AND THEN PROCESS THE PACKET TO DETERMINE IF THE
HAZLEWOOD ACT EXEMPTION WILL BE GRANTED.

IF THE HAZLEWOOD ACT EXEMPTION IS GRANTED THE SCHOOL WILL NOTIFY THE VETERAN-
STUDENT THAT THE TUITION AND SPECIFIED FEES HAVE BEEN WAIVED/EXEMPTED FOR THAT

SEMESTER.

IF THE HAZLEWOOD ACT EXEMPTION APPLICATION IS DENIED, THEN THE VETERAN-STUDENT
WILL BE NOTIFIED THAT THE EXEMPTION IS NOT GRANTED, THE REASON THE EXEMPTION
WAS DENIED, AND THE OPTIONS AVAILABLE TO THE VETERAN-STUDENT.



